PDA

View Full Version : Multiple company names with one tax id?

smsystems
09-24-2013, 07:36 PM
Hello all. I am new to the forum and need a little advice. I am also new to business ownership and was sort of hurled into it (a story for another day).

Currently we have two companies. One is a contracting company that serves only Seattle and the state of Washington. The other office is supposed to serve anything outside of Washington and it's the one we refer to as the 'home office'. The Washington office is shown as a sole proprietorship while the other somehow was written up as a partnership. Both share the same tax id. Each has a different company name.

This configuration is causing us to have to carry two insurance policies, two bank accounts and so on. We are very small (in start-up) and need to conserve all funds possible of course.

My questions to all you seasoned business owners are:
What is the best way for me to combine these companies without changing company names for either one?
How can it be set up where one insurance policy covers both businesses?
Since I have a 'partner' in all this, do I need to set it up as an LLC?
Is it possible for one bank account to cover both businesses?

Thanks in advance for any help as my head is spinning from information overload!!

Business Attorney
09-24-2013, 08:00 PM
There is no particular reason that you can't have multiple businesses (with different names) operating under the same entity. You just need to file the appropriate assumed name (DBA) filings so that they are identified correctly. However, putting both businesses in one entity means that the assets of both businesses are exposed to the liabilities of the other business.

It sounds as if you really have a partnership that includes both, even though you "The Washington office is shown as a sole proprietorship while the other somehow was written up as a partnership." I don't know what you mean by the phrases "shown as" or "written up as."