PDA

View Full Version : You should have a designer at the core of your start-up

MikeRiches
10-11-2013, 06:12 AM
As a graphic design graduate i am biased. But i firmly believe every start-up should have a designer in their core team. We are trained as problem solvers and can often think a little more creatively than someone more business minded.

Agree or disagree?

Freelancier
10-11-2013, 07:14 AM
Disagree.

A start-up's biggest problem is cash flow. It's not creative ideas (you wouldn't have a successful start-up without a good creative idea in the first place)... it's the money. Most businesses fail in the first year because of insufficient money. So you either need someone who is talented at raising money or someone who is talented at finding sales.

Design can be outsourced. Cash can't be. You can outsource what isn't core to your success.

cbscreative
10-11-2013, 11:07 AM
If you're referring to a hiring decision, then the point about outsourcing is correct, but I agree that creative services should be sought. The decision to skimp on design to save money will easily be a contributing factor to failure rather than an actual savings. The failure of most startups demonstrates how commonly a myth is believed. You often hear it expressed as, "I can't afford to advertise," or similar statements. That is the proverbial cart before the horse.

I'm not convinced that cash flow is the biggest problem for a startup. A successful startup requires a solid plan, and that plan needs to include marketing to build cash flow. Marketing will also require design services. I believe the lack of a solid plan and marketing are the real culprits to the high failure rates.

Freelancier
10-11-2013, 11:50 AM
I'm not convinced that cash flow is the biggest problem for a startup

Then you should do the research on it. Google "reasons why startups fail" then start looking at the links and see if "didn't have a designer on the team" is ANY of the reasons.