PDA

View Full Version : Konnichiwa from a Military Wife in Japan!

Decal_Girl
10-12-2013, 01:05 AM
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie :) ::waves::
I'm a 18 year old Marine Corps Wife & mother of 2 boys. We currently reside in Okinawa, Japan, but my husband and I are originally from Florida. We move back to the US in about 6 months. We have been married for almost 8 years, and our kids are everything to us.

I started a small business in August of 2012 making wall decals for homes. In Okinawa, our on-base homes mostly have concrete walls (to protect us from the harsh storms). It makes hanging pictures or any home décor especially difficult. I started making decals for my own walls, and once my friends and other members of our military community started discovering my hobby, they all wanted some, too. I was more than happy to help! Within a couple of months, I had a real business on my hands! I now have one of the most thriving home businesses on the island! I love what I do, and want to continue my business when we leave for the United States. I expanded and opened up an Etsy shop recently and I'm working on getting sales and customers within the US. It's been a labor of love, and I've worked especially hard on it.

I'm very happy to be a part of this group and learn from all of you!

Cheers!
Mandy

cbscreative
10-12-2013, 12:02 PM
Welcome Mandy and congrats on your success with a business you apparently didn't expect to be doing. I have friends who met and married in Japan. The husband was stationed there in the navy and the wife was there as a missionary. That was in the 80's though and they've been living here in Michigan since about 2000 when he retired from the Navy. Like you, she's an artist too.

There must be a typo in your post though. If you're 18 and married for 8 years then you got married really young. :)