Thread: Two unrelated businesses as one business?

Default Two unrelated businesses as one business?

Hi,

I'm a personal chef and an artist/designer. I make a decent living as a personal chef and it has very little overhead and very few deductions. The art/design has more overhead and also the possibility of many deductions - studio space in my home, buying tools, traveling for shows, etc. I'm making some money as an artist and am confident I'll be selling more in the future (trust me, I know the odds). But for now, the cooking is bringing in the money and the artist/design is in the red, breaking even at best. I want to get a seller's permit for the art, sell to larger stores, start declaring that income, etc. Is there any reason that I can't have these two businesses as one? Primarily for the initial purpose of deductions from the art/design basically being deducted from the personal chef income. Any thoughts or questions? Thank you!!

Array

I can't think of any reasons why you can't have two unrelated business pursuits. I've had a few different things going at the same time for the last several years. In my case, I usually set them up as different companies, but the effect on my personal income is the same. You would probably want to set them up as different companies in case one of them incurrs a liability that it can't afford to cover. This way you could protect the assets of the other company.
    Steve B

Array

im not sure if there is any advantage since YOU pay the tax on both of them at the end of the year....both business taxes go through YOU....so they are merged already in a way.

your question is one for an accountant....not a business blog.....its a black and white issue....either there's an advantage or there's not and the accountant can quickly tell you.

good luck!

Post Impressionist
    Array

Blog Entries