Thread: Advice on a Canada-USA partnership

Default Advice on a Canada-USA partnership

Hello,

Looking to get into business with an established company in the States and start up a new corporation in Canada. At the moment we're looking at a 50-50 split. Before going this route, does anyone know if there are any issues (legal, tax, other) that make going this route complicated since we're doing this across borders. Ideally, I'd set up a new corporation in Canada and then the person in the States would buy shares of this company. Also, I'm not sure if this would constitute a franchise or not, but it looks like I'd be putting in at least half of the money to start this up and I would replicate their business model, although some areas won't be the same.

I'm at the VERY early stages of this, so I'm at the point where I can shape and mold things...

Any info is appreciated as I have no experience with this!

Post Impressionist
    Array

Blog Entries

This is hardly my area of expertise, but I wanted to make sure you got an answer in the hopes that others who know better will then find the thread.

I would think having a company that crosses borders does make things more complicated. I don't know that it's necessarily a bad thing, but I would imagine your business would have to deal with legal and tax laws from both countries. Since in your case the U.S. company would be the parent company it's probably them that would have more of the complications, but again this isn't my area of expertise so I'm just guessing on this.